Skip to Navigation

Bible Bowl, 2012

Esther Simbol, Bible Bowl Coordinator, writes that this year's Fellowship of St. John the Divine North American Council (NAC) Bible Bowl at Antiochian Village succeeded, thanks to the diligent preparation of the participants, and the  rousing support from 300 campers cheering on their favorite teams.

The Topic this year was St. Paul's Letter to the Romans, and all seven Dioceses were represented. This year’s winner was the team from St. Elias Cathedral, Ottawa, Ontario, representing the Diocese of Ottawa, Eastern Canada and Upper State New York. The team consisted of Amanda Salibi, Maria Fakhouri and Milad Hamwi. We congratulate all the other teams that participated: a job well done!

Special thanks go to Fawaz and Jo-Ellen El-Khoury from Westborough, Massachusetts, who for the past two years have generously donated $3,000 to the winning Bible Bowl team. We were honored to have Mr. El-Khoury, an Archdiocese Board Member, with us to present the winning team with their cash award. Everyone who participated received an icon of the Parish Life Conference theme, and the name of the winning team will be placed on the plaque located at the Antiochian Village.

Special thanks go to Gregory Abdalah and Kathy Abraham, past NAC President, for serving as our Masters of Ceremonies for the evening. Our judges were the Rev. Dn. John Rogers, Alex Younes and Khouria Kathleen Purpura. The Dioceses Presidents, Officers, and past officers served as monitors for the evening.

First Place

St. Elias Cathedral, Ottawa, Ontario, The Diocese of Ottawa, Eastern Canada and Upstate New York: Amanda Salibi, Maria Fakhouri, Milad Hamwi

Holy Resurrection Church, Tucson, Arizona, The Dioceses of Los Angeles and the West and Eagle River and the Northwest: Amber Kiilehua, Kaitlyn Brewer, Daniel Makus  Alt: Monica Kiilehua

St. Elijah, Oklahoma, Oklahoma, The Diocese of Wichita and Mid-America: Zach Crouch, Jacob Crouch, Sophia Massad

St. Stephen, Hiram, Georgia, The Diocese of Miami and the Southeast: John Lewis, Katie Lewis, Anastasia Dunn

St. George, Cicero, Illinois, The Diocese of Toledo and the Midwest: Danielle Habash, Jeanette Habash, Andrew Sweiss  Alt: Matthew Moukheiber

St. Mary, Cambridge, Massachusetts, The Diocese of Worcester and New England: Theo Smith, Anthony Marge, Alex Dalton

St. George, Little Falls, New Jersey, The Dioceses of New York and Washington, D.C., and Charleston, Oakland, and the Mid-Atlantic: Jordan Kurzum, Mouna Wahbeh, Jalil Tadros  Alt: Mariella Hanna